You did it – Annoh-Dompreh, Miracles Aboagye congratulate Bawumia even before EC announces results


Frank Annoh-Dompreh and Dennis Miracles Aboagye, Majority Chief Whip and Presidential Staffer, respectively, have all congratulated Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia who they believe has won the presidential primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) based on the provisional figures that have come in so far.

Annoh-Dompreh who is also lawmaker for Nsawam Adoagyiri tweeted “Congratulations, sir..”

Miracles Aboagye also tweeted “You did it Sir Congratulations @MBawumia.”

Another leading member of the NPP Gabby Otchere Darko also said that Dr Bawumia enjoys overwhelming support from the party.

In his view, he overwhelming support is a demonstration of the massive confidence people have in the government.

“When I got here, it was peaceful, and it is the president’s constituency, and they have voted overwhelmingly for the Vice President. They came out to vote massively for the Vice President, and it shows that they have confidence in the government,” Mr Otchere-Darko told journalists on Saturday November 4

“We have a lot of work to do to break the eight-year cycle, but it starts with massively endorsing the candidate so that we don’t encounter problems,” he added.

Meanwhile, a Political Scientist at the University of Ghana, Dr Kwame Asah-Asante has said no matter who wins the flagbearer elections of the NPP, the real deal is in the 2024 general elections against John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

He said the yet-to-be-known flagbearer of the NPP will have a great deal in 2024 to convince Ghanaians to reject Mr Mahama.

“The real deal is the 2024 general elections. Whoever will win the NPP elections, despite the margin, once you win you have won, the real deal is in the 2024 elections against John Mahama.

“What is it that you have done that Mahama has not which you believe the people should reject Mahama?” He said while reacting to the provisional; results from the NPP internal elections.

Dr Asah-Asante further said he was impressed with the performance of Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia and Assin Central Lawmaker Kennedy Agyapong for their performance.

Dr Asah-Aante noted that the two gentlemen embarked on effective campaign strategies that are working for them.

“The two gentlemen have acquitted themselves very well and the results they are getting, I am not surprised at all,” he told TV3.

Provisional results have been declared in the Assin Central Constituency in New Patriotic Party’s presidential primaries on Saturday, November 4.

Member of Parliament Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, who stood in Saturday’s elections, polled 491 out of the total valid votes cast. His closest contender Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia had 16 votes.

The other two aspirants – Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai-Nimoh – had no votes. In Assin South Constituency, Mr Agyapong polled 478 votes while Dr Bawumia polled 158 votes. Dr Afriyie Akoto and Mr Addai-Nimoh had 1 and 0 respectively.

From the Bolgatanga East Constituency in the Upper East Region, out of a total of 251 votes cast, Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia polled 242 votes.

Assin Central Member of Parliament (MP) Kennedy Ohene Agyapong polled 8 votes while Francis Addai-Nimoh, a former MP for Asante Mampong Constituency, had a single vote.

Former Food and Agriculture Minister Dr Owusus Afriyie Akoto had no votes.

In Bunkpurugu in the North East Region, it is a clean sweep of votes for the Vice President as he polled 522 out of 522.

The rest had no votes and there were no rejected nor spoilt ballots.

At Yagaba Kubori in the same region, the Vice President polled 366 votes with three (3) spoilt ballots.

The other three aspirants had no votes.

At the Party’s headquarters in Accra, where government officials voted, Dr Bawumia polled 254 votes out of a total 393 valid votes while Mr Ohene Agyapong had 133 votes.

Mr Addai-Nimoh had 4 votes while Dr Afriyie Akoto had 4 votes.

Most of the centers are sorting ballots after polls closed at 2:00pm.