GJA, Ghana Gas renew commitments to building the capacity of Journalists to bolster Ghana’s power delivery


The Ghana Journalists Association led by its President Albert Kwabena Dwumfour has met with the Management of Ghana Gas, led by its CEO Dr. Ben Asante in Accra, where both agreed on collaborating among other things to equip Journalists in Energy Reporting with the overall goal to propel growth in Ghana’s energy Sector.

Currently, Ghana Gas is responsible for about 80 percent of power supply in Ghana, according to CEO, Dr. Ben Asante. He said the company has the vision of providing service to the nation when it comes to power supply.

‘’Ghana Gas represents the first block and gate for energy generation in Ghana, and we want to work hard in this aspect to keep the lights on’’, he noted.

According to the Ghana Gas CEO, accurate reporting of issues is therefore critical in the energy sector and hence believes that investing in building the capacity of Journalists in Energy Reporting is the way to go.

GJA President Albert Dwumfour expressed gratitude to Ghana Gas for supporting the Association and said, ‘’the GJA and Ghana Gas are both stakeholders in nation building, and for that matter the media as a whole.”

He used the occasion to outline the GJA’s plan of action in the days and months ahead and called on Ghana Gas to support the Awards for Journalists slated for November 12, 2022, with the view to upholding high professionalism in Ghana’s Media ecosystem.

Head of Corporate Communications at Ghana Gas, Ernest Owusu Bempah reminded journalists that, ‘’reporting on facts is critical to quality Journalism’’’. Ethics, he said should remain a watch work in the life of a journalist, and appealed to producers and talk show hosts to avoid empanelling politicians instead of experts in discussing energy issues to ensure the accuracy of information disseminated.

GJA, Ghana Gas renew commitments to building capacity of Journalists to bolster Ghana's power delivery

GJA President Albert Dwumfour was joined by his Vice, Mrs. Linda Asante Agyei, General Secretary, Kofi Yeboah, Organizing Secretary, Dominic Hlodzi, Treasurer, Mrs. Audrey Dekalu and Public Affairs Officer, Rebecca Ekpe.